When you drink and drive in Florida, you risk your freedom, finances and your future. You cannot operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or more. For individuals with a commercial driver's license, the BAC limit is .04 percent, and for those who have not reached their 21st birthday, the limit is .02 percent.
The consequences can be severe. For example:
For a second DUI jail time up to nine months may result. If a minor was present as a passenger or you had an elevated BAC, you may have to serve 12 months.
If your second DUI occurs within five years of the first, you will serve mandatory jail time. Your vehicle will be impounded. Fines are in the thousands, and DUI school is required.
A third DUI in Florida can mean up to one year in jail. The vehicle will be impounded for three months or more. Fines can be up to $5,000 depending on the situation. A 10-year suspension of your license is very possible.
In all of the cases above, you may be eligible for reduced fines, jail time or vehicle impoundment if it can be shown that these are a hardship for you and your family.
Florida Law classifies a fourth DUI defendant as a habitual offender. A fine cannot be less than $2,000. In a fourth DUI circumstance, you will not be able to obtain a license, with no exception allowing for hardship reinstatement.
Defense of a DUI is a complicated matter that requires an attorney with DUI knowledge and experience. Call Peeler Law Firm, PLLC, for immediate discussion and consideration of your DUI charge. Stan Peeler has extensive criminal defense experience in DUI cases in his 30 years of practicing law. He will meet with you personally. Please call Peeler Law Firm, PLLC, at 850-432-7705 for an appointment. Or email us. the firm and we will get back to you.